RIP Gambit

Around 15 years ago friends of ours who owned Brittany Spaniels had a dog who had a litter.   We had just lost my old dog Chai who at 17 had a long and great life and so felt ready to find another companion for our other old dog Jess.

So we went around and chose a little Black and White puppy who we called Connie after Constance the Duchess of Brittany in the 12 century.   When we went around to pick her up there was one puppy left who no one wanted.  The runt of the litter with a shortened pallet he wasn’t deemed to be in good enough shape to be worthy of breeding.  And so we ended up with two wonderful little dogs, Gambit and his sister Connie.

When my then wife and I split up almost five years ago the dogs stayed with her and apart from a few visits when my daughters walked them around to the unit where I lived I didn’t see a lot of them.   For the past few years they have lived with my ex and her new partner and on occasion have come up to the gate of the property to greet me.  Getting slower and struggling up the hill I know that they both still knew who I was because their tails wagged and he gave a funny little groan that he always gave when I scratched his ear.

On Thursday my youngest daughter and her Mum took Gambit to the vet and he had to be put down.  He had struggled to get up for the last week and it was no longer fair to watch him begin to waste away.  My ex was always much braver than me in being able to make that decision.

Even though I hadn’t had the chance to have much to do with either of the dogs for a few years they were still a part of my family and I’ll miss him.

16 Comments

  1. Zuzana said,

    November 6, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Oh, I am so sorry… Loosing a pet can at times be as painful as loosing a relative or a loved one, if not even more…The reason to that, as explain by psychologist, is that the love of a pet is unconditional. And a human love is almost never that way.Beautiful tribute to your faithful companion.Have a lovely weekend,xoxo

  2. Loz said,

    November 6, 2010 at 10:11 am

    You are absolutely right Zuzana – it is an unconditional love

  3. Andrew said,

    November 6, 2010 at 10:41 am

    It is not only children that complicate separations. We have friends who are separating and they are taking one dog each. But the dogs are inseparable. Not good. Your life was enriched by the dogs for a time. All good.

  4. ladyfi said,

    November 6, 2010 at 10:46 am

    So sorry to hear about your loss. What a beautiful dog and a lovely tender tribute.

  5. Jill said,

    November 6, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I am so sad reading this…even though it was time to let Gambit go it is just TOO hard. What an adorable lil pup he was!

  6. Hilary said,

    November 6, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    I'm so sorry for the loss of your beautiful canine friend. I know how very difficult it is to lose a pet. Their paw prints remain forever on our hearts.Gambit is a great name.

  7. Loz said,

    November 6, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Hi Andrew – i agree the dogs shouldn't be split and I did have gambit in my life for a time and that was good

  8. Loz said,

    November 6, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    ladyfi – thank you for the visit and he was a beautiful dog as is his sister

  9. Loz said,

    November 6, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Hi Jill – thank you also for popping in – i still remember him clearly as that little puppy who wasn't expected to live way back then

  10. Loz said,

    November 6, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    They do indeed Hilary and thank you too for visiting

  11. tony said,

    November 6, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    2 Beautiful ,Handsome Dogs. Such Intelligent Eyes!Best Wishes fromTony.

  12. Claus said,

    November 6, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I'm terribly sorry for this lose. There are no words to rightfully describe the love for a dear pet companion, and their love towards you is one of a kind. Gambit was a lucky friend, and I am sure he is in a pain-free, happy place.

  13. Loz said,

    November 6, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Thanks Tony – they are both very smart dogs

  14. Loz said,

    November 6, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    Claus – thank you for visiting and I agree. Dogs are people too. They may remain furry two year olds but they give so much.

  15. November 7, 2010 at 1:20 am

    I'm sorry to hear about your loss. I don't know what it feels like to lose a pet cos I've never really lost one. I do have little doggy right now, for about a year plus and if anything happened to her, I know I'd be really upset.

  16. Loz said,

    November 7, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Nick – this isn't the first time for me. I've been lucky enough to have had many pets in my lifetime and loved them all. But yes it does hurt when they go.


Leave a Reply

