Busy Times

Again it’s been way too long since I wrote but life has been very busy.  Work this year has come with new and challenging duties and one day I might be able to talk about them openly but not now.

We currently have 2 and a half kids [read young adults] living with us and another who will and that has meant that our little 3 bedroom home is way too small.  So we’ve spent a few weeks deciding on what to do and with the cost of extensions way too high for what we’d get we’ve decided to bite the bullet and build a new house with 5 bedrooms.

It was a long and often fruitless search for land and with little available where we currently live we’ve decided to move out to Melbourne’s south east in a brand new estate that is currently a cow paddock.   Used to being surrounded by trees that is going to take a big adjustment for me but that’s a compromise brought on by the size of our budget and I guess I’ll get used to it.

For the first 49 years of my life I only lived in two places but since separation and divorce have moved twice with the next being maybe the penultimate one.  One day I intend to retire to the south coast of New South Wales.

Went and saw Rob Thomas Friday of last week – bonus was the encore with INXS – sensational

Mum was admitted to hospital yesterday after bleeding from the bowell for a day without telling anyone.  She will be having a colonoscopy at some time in the next couple of days so we cross our fingers.  She will be 80 later this year so any operation is a worry.

That is a very brief update just in case anyone is stil interested.  I won’t promise to get back to writing regularly although I would like to.  I have started keeping a hand written journal again just to record some of the unpublishable stuff so that my kids will know a few more things when I shuffle off the old mortal coil.

Hope that all my blog buddies are still well 🙂

4 Comments

  1. February 13, 2010 at 6:08 am

    I'll be praying for your mom, nice to get an update, I often think and wonder how your doing.Dorothy from grammologygrammology.com

  2. Loz said,

    February 13, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Hi Dorothy and thanks once again for the prayers. I've just come from the hospital and she's in good spirits although tired. I'll be back there again tomorrow

  3. February 13, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Hi Loz, you have been away quite some time. It is good to see you back.

  4. Anonymous said,

    February 15, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Hi Laurie,Glad to read an update. I hope your mum is ok too.I miss reading you, like I am sure many do. We have followed your journey for quite some time but I quite understand if you have got to that place where you no longer feel the inclination to write.The blog was right for you for the time it was. It helped you through some mighty tough times, and it seems you have got to the other side of so much that was going on.It was something that had to happen. YOu are now settling down in this new life you have created and I wish you well as the journey continues.Take care. Those who have followed know you are a pretty special guy. Of that there is no doubt.Jen x


Leave a Reply

