Blogs and change – The theme meme

I have tended lately to blog only when I have found the time to do so rather than make the time like I once did.  There are a few reasons for that, a busy job, a more settled life, and sometimes maybe a lack of inspiration.   I think all bloggers face that at times.   I once had delusions of being a writer and blogging was a vindication of that, there were plenty of visitors, a lot of comments and Technorati links of more than 100.

But it was hard work getting there, lots of memes done, linking to lots of people, some of whom I never read, commenting on as many blogs as possible in the hope that they would visit mine etc.  And the nature of my posts keeps changing – at one stage I was trying to maintain three separate blogs but since blogger allowed the feature of merging them into one, I did that.

Lack of time has also meant that I haven’t found as much time to visit those of you who I consider to be my blogging friends so first and formost I apologise for that.  I do still try and return the favour of commenting back on people’s blogs who show me the courtesy of doing the same and I try and visit those who follow me.   But instead of daily, that tends to be something of a weekly event.

If I was to line up every post on this blog and try and put them into a category I would say that the majority may fall into the reflective category, followed by current events in my life, things that have moved and or angered me, and a bit of whimsy thrown in now and then.   I once thought that there was a theme but I do tend to wander a bit more widely now in my thoguhts than I once did.  I think that I’ve let go of some of the loneliness and anger that categorised a lot of the early stuff but what I’m moving onto I will only know when I get there.

So if there is a meme to this post then let it be this.   Tell me what the theme of your blog is and how it has changed over time.  I tag all those who follow me, all those I follow and anyone else who is on my blogroll or who cares to comment.

5 Comments

  1. September 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

    My blog started out to be funny…..poking fun at myself in my senior years. Now I have moments of dragging my soapbox out and letting my opinions out about a variety of things. Sometimes I miss my old blog and make an attempt of bringing it back to a more light-hearted status….but a lot has happened in my life the past year or so and I don't always feel like making a joke. My readers seem to like me both ways….so I'm glad to have them and you. Take care.

  2. Gypsy said,

    September 18, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Boy this is a tough question as I really started to think about it. Originally my blog was about working through what I suppose was a mini mid life crisis. The crisis is still in progress but due to getting burned a number of times from the fallout of revealing too much I am now a lot more private than I used to be. I guess I mostly talk about things that are happening in my daily life within reason and occasionally about things that have happened in the past and have helped make me who I am.One thing I do a lot is make fun of myself but not in a derogatory way. I just thimk it's healthy to be able to laugh at one's self.

  3. September 18, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    My blog used to be a space to rant about my daily life in University. It was overly-dramatic and somehow makes my life like a soap opera. Now, I am very senstive about what I write as I know my family and friends will read it. Now, I focus on something more positive and uplifting!

  4. September 18, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    You make statements and reflexions, I guess, many of us do. At the beginning I posted almost daily. Because it was something new. But with time, I run out of inspirations and I made some posts that were not interesting. And then I discovered that it does not matter how often you post to "attract customers". Your "people" will come back to read you. I also, since the beginning did not worry about a specail theme or topic. I just write about anything. And so, bit by bit, I changed from a "forced" to a "casual" blogger. And that is why is still enjoy blogging.

  5. September 22, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Hi Loz: Interesting post. I apologize for not getting over here more often, but like you, life gets too busy sometimes to keep up with everyone. I always enjoy reading your thoughts from the other side of the world. In answer to your question about the evolution of the blog … hmmmm. Well, I started my blog thinking that it would be fun to talk about some of the crazy things that go on at my office. Then I thought, if I want to keep my job, maybe I better NOT. My blog has turned into an on-line diary of sorts for me. Not quite Bridget Jones, but sort of a record of what has gone on recently in my life. I used to always keep a journal/diary years ago, so I guess this is the modern equivalent. Then I was thinking that if something ever happened to me, my daughter and her kids (if she ever has any) would always have something of me — a glimpse of my personality and humor, at least. For this reason, I've never gone and gotten my own website name. Hopefully, blogspots never go away!


Leave a Reply

