Emasculating the dog

My dog Ramsey is a little over a year old and a true ratbag.  Daughter number 2 who is with me at least every second weekend has been harping for months now about the need to get him desexed.  Now he doesn’t have a predilection to hump legs of tables or persons, he is not overly agressive and whilst I understand that it is a recommended course of action I’m a bloke.  And blokes struggle with the thought of having their balls chopped off.

Today daughter number two decided to tr and appeal to my medical knowledge by telling me that if his was deknackered he would not get testicular cancer, to which I replied “Why don’t we chop off his head then.  That way he won’t get a brain tumour.”

Now any bloke who has seen someone else hit in the nuts at any time knows that it is the one thing that makes all of us squirm.  It is deeply programmed into mankind and most likely dates back to the time when our first shrew like ancestor fell onto a tree branch and straddled it painfully.  It’s something that we tend to want to avoid at all costs.  I’m not saying he won’t be done at some stage in the future but right now with a 16 year old telling me that his nuts are gross and he’d be better off without them, I am manfully resisting the call.

10 Comments

  1. Loz said,

    August 30, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Hi folks, I understand some people are having trouble leaving comments but I can't figure out why. Underneath the comment section is a place to choose what ID you want to use to comment – in my case I use my Google ID and there is no word verification message that comes up when I do that. So please email me with exactly how you are trying to leave a comment.

  2. Anonymous said,

    August 30, 2009 at 8:30 am

    test comment

  3. Loz said,

    August 30, 2009 at 8:42 am

    OK folks – thanks to everyone who has told me about the problems you've been having in trying to comment. I've tried a few tweaks and I hope that has fixed the issue but I will need you to let me know

  4. Loz said,

    August 30, 2009 at 8:56 am

    This comment was made using my Google ID. I have not yet worked out how to allow anonymous comments and maybe that isn't a bad thing, but I'll keep looking

  5. Guest said,

    August 30, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Now I've allowed anonymous comments – so again please let me know if there are any issues with postingCheersLoz

  6. suzen said,

    August 30, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    What a darling dog! And I loved your comment to your daughter about the brain cancer! Too funny. I say if it ain't broke, you don't fix it! People told me my dog wouldn't be so hyper if he was "fixed" – that was a bunch of hooey – he is STILL a nut case – without nuts!

  7. suzen said,

    August 30, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    YAY LOZ – it worked! Good tweaking there!

  8. Gypsy said,

    August 31, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Okay…testing, testing. The trouble is now I don't remember what I wanted to say except….cute dog.

  9. September 3, 2009 at 3:06 am

    This is so funny and I agree with you..I'd hold off a bit however the dog is adorable.Dorothy from grammologygrammology.com

  10. Guest said,

    September 4, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Yep Ramsey is gorgeous. But ya just gotta do what ya gotta do. We can't have heaps of little Ramseys running around. Jen


Leave a Reply

