Uluru and Kata Tjuta Panoramas

A couple of weeks ago we were lucky enough to visit Uluru and Kata Tjuta in Central Australia.  I took a lot of photos as usual and most I am still fiddling with.   Below though are three panorama shots which I had printed off to 1 meter long shots for framing.  I’m pretty happy with them.

Here’s a bit of technical stuff for those who may be interested.   I use a Canon 30D and these photos were taken with a Tamron 18-250 zoom lens.  Each photo consists of around 8-12 separate images stitched together in Photoshop Elements.  I had to remove a few spots in the sky caused by some dust on the sensor and made some minor adjustments in the levels but other than that what you see is how it looked to me on the day.  The shots have been resized for web display.  You can click on the image to open a larger view.

 
 Uluru Sunrise
 
Valley of the Winds – Kata Tjuta
 
Kata Tjuta Sunset
11 Comments

  1. Peter said,

    May 16, 2009 at 12:57 am

    These are real beautiful “stones”. I hope that one day I can see them myself.

    Recent blog post: Titania, the Starlight

  2. Andrew said,

    May 16, 2009 at 3:30 am

    I didn’t realise you were so talented Loz. The are really great photos.

  3. Mum-me said,

    May 16, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Lovely, lovely shots of a beautiful part of our country. I am just learning how to stitch multiple shots together. Would love to see more of yours.

  4. suzen said,

    May 17, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    What a gifted photographer you are! Those vistas are lovely! Thank you for sharing the beauty of Australia – it’s awesome!

    Recent blog post: Stress – Emotional Illness vs Architecture? Part 2

  5. Romany Angel said,

    May 17, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    I am so envious Loz. I miss that place sometimes…there is something quite mystical about it.

    Steve Parrish had better watch his back with shots like that to rival his.

  6. Loz said,

    May 17, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks Peter – Uluru is like an iceberg, 90% is underground. I don’t know if it’s the largest “stone” on the planet but it would go close.

    Recent blog post: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Panoramas

  7. Loz said,

    May 17, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Andrew it’s hard to stuff up photographs of a place like that.

    Recent blog post: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Panoramas

  8. Loz said,

    May 17, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    I’ll get some more up soon. I’m working on some of Cradle Mountain at the moment and a few taken in Thailand last year as well.

    Recent blog post: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Panoramas

  9. Loz said,

    May 17, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Hi Kaz – flattery will get you everywhere 🙂

    Recent blog post: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Panoramas

  10. Guest said,

    May 19, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Beautiful shots. I love the look of the sky behind the orange stones. It makes me want to be there.

  11. Guest said,

    May 19, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    By the way, that last comment was made by me, Scarlet in Miami (your “Guest”).


Leave a Reply

