Remember when Mum said if you ate an apple core…

…that you would end up with an apple tree growing in your stomach.  Or that if you didn’t clean your ears or toenails that potatoes would start to grow.  So I grew up terrified that I would turn into a triffid or an ent, or worse that stalks of celery would start to burst forth from my nostrils.  I could only quake in fear at the thought of blackberry bushes growing from other orifices and the damage that the thorns may do to various bodily parts.  And as a result I was very careful never to digest anything that looked like a seed and in fact grew up with a mortal fear of nuts.   Or maybe you don’t remember any of this and my Mum was the only one who managed to induce these fears.


Well I hate to tell you folks but it seems like it was all true.  There is a report that has come out of Russia which states that surgeons who operated on a 28 year old man to remove what they thought was a cancerous growth found a 5 centimeter fir tree growing in his lung.   They believe he somehow inhaled a seed which germinated and grew inside his lung.   It got me thinking that if a single seed can do that then imagine what a few thousand spores could do and I have promised myself never to sniff mushrooms.

So here’s a couple of questions.   What words of cullinary wisdom did your Mum give you?  And check out Discover magazine who are asking whether you believe this is true or not.   Let us know your answer here.

13 Comments

  1. Just a Girl said,

    April 16, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    Sadly, my mother didn’t pass on such knowledge to me. But I do have to say that that story was whacked! It should be on Ripley’s Believe it or Not!

    Recent blog post: I’m Just a Girl Ep. 16 – Propaganda and the Obama Cult

  2. blur ting said,

    April 17, 2009 at 5:33 am

    funny, we have been warned about this before, the same way! Oh, but that photo of fir growing…gross! Is it possible without light?

  3. Terri said,

    April 18, 2009 at 3:13 am

    My mom always warned us to eat the bread crusts and not just the inside part of the bread because “the crust is where all the nutrition is.” Not so scary, but I believed this for many years!

    Recent blog post: The good life interrupted

  4. Jen said,

    April 18, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Ha Terri, your bread one reminded me that we were told if you eat your crusts you get curly hair. Like we were supposed to want curly hair. hmmmm.

  5. Dorothy Stahlnecker said,

    April 18, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    This is so funny and I’ll never swallow a seed again…..

    Dorothy from grammology
    grammology.com

    Recent blog post: Mastering depression

  6. Lilly said,

    April 19, 2009 at 9:30 am

    What an amazing story – I thought it would be impossible for a tree to grow in those conditions. Mmm what did my mother say to me. Eat your crusts and your hair will grow curly. I love crusts and have eaten them all my life and my hair is dead straight. Guess she lied to me…..some mother, hey?

    Recent blog post: This is not the Internet

  7. Guest said,

    April 19, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Peter – imagine what would appen with a fruit salad

  8. Guest said,

    April 19, 2009 at 10:03 am

    I’m sure it will be

  9. Guest said,

    April 19, 2009 at 10:04 am

    I did wonder about the light but I guess they are forest trees and may germinate beneath a lot of leaf litter before they emerge

  10. Guest said,

    April 19, 2009 at 10:05 am

    But I did want it Jen – It didn’t work

  11. Guest said,

    April 19, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Swallowing doesn’t seem to be as bad as inhaling

  12. Briigt said,

    April 19, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Gross!!! I remember being told not too swallow watermellon seeds. I can’t remember why though. Surely my mother didn’t think I’d grow watermellons in my tummy?

    Recent blog post: Feral Beryl

  13. Loz said,

    April 19, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Now that would make a mess – but if the flowers weren’t fertilised presumably the fruit couldn’t grow.

    Recent blog post: Letting go of the Anger and Other Things


Leave a Reply

