The Power of Me

I forgot to grab my book yesterday morning and I hate doing that my one hour train trip each day seems much longer when I don’t have a book to read.  So the obvious thing to do was to go out at lunch time and buy something that would make the trip home bearable.

Two people have commented recently about Eckart Tolle and his book the Power of Now and it has practically jumped off the shelf at me several times in the past few weeks, as it has fallen off the shelf as my lady walked past it, so it was obvious to me that I should purchase it and see whether the hype matches the reality.

I should start by saying that as I look back over the recent years that I am a significantly different person now to who I was then.  I was once a totally rational man, the spritual meant little to me.  But if I said that I have seen auras and shapechangers, that I have had my dead father sit on the end of my bed, that I can feel pain by passing my hands over people, I would expect most people who know me to call me mad.  And perhaps they would be right, sometimes I feel that way as well.  I once would not have found the courage to write such things and perhaps that is the measure of the change.

And I have read much that has changed me, The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz, Gordon Livingston’s Too Soon Old – Too Late Smart, and of course Don’t sweat the small stuff by Richard Carlson.   Each of those have opened me to the spiritual and it is fair to say that my journey is at the beginning and that I have much to learn.

I have been both empowered and enslaved by my life.  That should be no secret to people either because we are all the same.  What I have begun to learn is that my life experiences have shaped me and the decisions I have made.  Some have not liked that and many, including myself, have probably not understood it.  So if I have spent a lot of time reflecting on this blog, it is because I am learning lessons from those reflections.  I am understanding what has made me what I am.

I have just begun the Power of Now and I will be interested to see how it does change me as I find my way through it.  I have no preconceptions for the knowledge of my self has been found in unexpected places.  No doubt there will be at least a few blog posts where I discuss what he talks about.

The train trip last night was not the place to really get into the book so instead I decided to try and open my senses to what was going on around me.  I have tended to spend the time on the train totally divorcing myself from the Now, but tonight I decided that I would exercise each sense and try and feel what was happening.

I saw people swaying with the movement, some sleeping, reading papers and books, doing cross words, listening to ipods and in most cases oblivious to those around them, seated next to and touching total strangers unaware of the contact.

I heard the clickety clack of the train, and the whine of the steel wheels on steel tracks, the whoosh of air from the pneumatic doors, the sound of my breath, of music leaked from ear phones, the bells of level crossings, occasionally a phone would ring and I could hear one side of the conversations about when people would get home, or what was for dinner, and the whisper of conversations from seats away.   When the automated announcements of upcoming stations was played over the loud speaker systems I not only heard it but felt it reverberating in my chest.

I felt the pressure on the balls and heels of my feet as I stood in the doorway for an hour, and the brush of my trousers on the hairs of my legs as I swayed to the movement of the train.  I felt an itch on my back and the scratch of my nail as I reacted to it, and the movement of air through my bowels as I resisted the urge to fart.   In clasping one hand on the other I felt the blood rushing through my veins and the beat of my heart.  A breeze caressed my face as the air forced it’s way in through the door seals.

And I looked around a last time and saw a hundred people cloistered in their own world, oblivious to everything I had experienced and I wondered how many times I had done the same thing and missed what was truly happening around me.

I have no idea if the Power of Now has anything to do with what I did tonight but I am looking forward to finding out.  Stay with me!

15 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    March 5, 2009 at 10:34 am

    When I am on a train, I am either engrossed in reading or looking around and observing fellow passengers. A lot of observing happens on trains. Though often I am trying work out who is the person with the really bad body odour.

    Recent blog post: The Arts Centre

  2. Beth said,

    March 5, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Loz – the Power of Now was a very eye-opening book for me. I struggle everyday to stay in the moment rather than worry about the past and future. Thanks for the wonderful reminder to do so…

    Recent blog post: Interesting Times…

  3. suZen said,

    March 5, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Sounds like you were really in the moment! I look forward to hearing about your experiences with The Power Of Now. I’ve been in a Tolle book club for a year – honestly. We went thru A New Earth three times (along with the classes on Oprah’s site as well) and we just finished a very slow, but meaty, perusal thru PON. It has profoundly changed my life AND saved our marriage. (Hubs and I did a slow study/discussion of New Earth) Whoa – not meaning to put pressure on you or anything, haha, but its cool you felt so drawn to that book. 🙂

  4. Loz said,

    March 5, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    That is probably most of us given how tightly packed we are most days now.

    Recent blog post: The Power of Me

  5. Loz said,

    March 5, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    The only way I can remember some of the lessons I have learnt is to constantly re visit

    Recent blog post: The Power of Me

  6. Loz said,

    March 5, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Tolle says early on that the book is not for everyone and I have found that with others I have read. What I have found inspirational some have totally scoffed at. And there are some I have read hoping for epiphany but found it come up short – Dan Millman’s Way of the Peaceful Warrior was a little like that for me, maybe I need to read the rest of his books to overcome that feeling that the story was incomplete.

    Anyway – what that means is I have learnt not to judge a book by it’s cover 🙂

    Recent blog post: The Power of Me

  7. Guest said,

    March 5, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I have read it, but I need to read it again. I read fast and it can’t be a fast read.

    Recent blog post: ::out through my mouth and blowing my bangs up::

  8. Guest said,

    March 5, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    I have read it, but I need to read it again. I read fast and it can’t be a fast read.

    Recent blog post: ::out through my mouth and blowing my bangs up::

  9. Jen said,

    March 6, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Hi Laurie,

    I haven’t read the book yet either but do know about it.

    Wanted to say though that if a book is recommended by a couple of sources or as you say virtually fell into your lap then to me it is a ‘sign.’ The universe is giving you a nudge (or often times a damn good kick) that this is something you are meant to be doing. And its about time NOW! lol.

    I know we have discussed before some of the things that have happened in your life. I’m really glad it seems now you are ready to embrace this spiritual side to you. It’s always been there. You have had so many interesting experiences that have showed you they are there and ready for you when YOU are ready.

    Now is obviously the time.

    I wish you a wonderful journey on this new path. I’m sure you will be truly amazed and inspired.

    Your observations on the train beautifully written. Observing people is so interesting hey? I don’t often get the chance to travel by train, but actually just last night coming home from the Coldplay concert I was doing just that. I do love doing that. People are just so interesting. And for you who can see Auras would be even more so.

    Take care my friend. And enjoy the journey. (Oh, and keep enjoying that train journey too. Either learning more about people or devouring books that also teach us so much.)

    Jen x

  10. Jen said,

    March 6, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Oh, one other thing I don’t know what I do half the time but I just can’t seem to log-in here so that I come up as ‘me’ instead of as a guest.

    My pic is up there as one of the followers of this site yet I can’t seem to log-in under that.

    I had a go just before trying to go in under my facebook link, yet that didn’t work either.

    I know I’m hopeless at most things computer, but do wish I could lodge comments under ‘me.’

    Shame with this new format that the pics of the writers don’t show up now. I always liked that. You sort of feel you know a lot of them and there is that kindredness amongst friends.

    Ok, that’s my winge. Sorry.

    Have a good one.

    Jen x

  11. Loz said,

    March 6, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Hope – do it now and let us know what you think!

    Recent blog post: The Power of Me

  12. Loz said,

    March 6, 2009 at 1:10 am

    Hi Jen – the journey is nothing if not interesting and unfolding in unexpected ways. Thanks for being along for the ride.

    Recent blog post: The Power of Me

  13. Loz said,

    March 6, 2009 at 1:13 am

    I decided to install Linkluv for a couple of reasons – firstly it links back to a bloggers latest post, secondly people can comment individually on a comment, rather than having them all listed in strict alphabetical order, but I have to admit, I don’t understand the guest thing either. Even my comments default to that for some reason. I’ll try and find out why, in the meantime may I kindly suggest that you start blogging too 🙂

    Recent blog post: The Power of Me

  14. Loz said,

    March 6, 2009 at 1:14 am

    Actually I think it’s commentluv

    Recent blog post: The Power of Me

  15. Jen said,

    March 6, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Me again. lol.

    First, I meant to say also when we read your posts it now comes up that there are zero comments. Yet when you go to the comments there can be heaps there. Bit weird.

    Second – me write a blog? You keep saying that. lol. Imagine me trying to set up a blog. OMG. Actually writing comments on a couple is probably enough for me. I do like the RSVP ones. And I guess I don’t quite feel content at the moment. So wish I could find that magical someone that will create that contentment for me.

    I always enjoy your blogging though Laurie. I suppose I have related to lots of aspects of it all. Lots of similarities in things. And of course your honesty has always jumped from the pages.

    I will plod on visiting your pages and maybe one day master this whole log-in thing. lol.

    Take care


Leave a Reply

