Proof that Sex Sells – Vermont Country Store Catalogue

Following on from my Habba Syndrome post yesterday which saw a little more traffic come to this site simply because of what I would have thought was a relatively rare medical complaint, I thought I’d try another experiment today.

As I sit here now one of the Top 10 searches on google is for “Vermont Country Stores“. Being all the way over here in Australia I have to say that I have never previously heard of them before either. But they have a long tradition of mail order business stretching back 64 years.
AP has reported that the catalogue has made a recent addition by offering sex aids for sale.
AP says that “Lyman Orton, whose father started the 12-page mailer in 1945 that has turned into a $100 million a year business, says some of the irate letters “makes me a little ill, really,”

Orton, 67, says no one asked him to include the new items, he just thought it might help older folks keep sexually active.

But don’t try looking for “Sex Aids” in the online version. To find the right page you need to search for “Intimate Solutions“.

According to Cabot Orton a member of the family run business, the items are big sellers.

Image is from here.

7 Comments

  1. Romany Angel said,

    February 17, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Mention the word sex or any of it’s various connotations and watch your stats sky rocket.It’s funny that you should mention this Loz because there are one or two blogs I read that have some racy content from time to time. I always find the numbers on their profiles staggering and their writing isn’t THAT good. Which leads me to the obvious conclusion. Having said that I don’t think I will be writing a sex blog any time soon just to get hits 🙂

  2. Hapi said,

    February 17, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    hello… hapi blogging… have a nice day! just visiting here….

  3. Loz said,

    February 17, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Like I said Gypsy – sex sells :)Interestingly it also brings spammers – I’ve rejected one spam comment on this post so far.

  4. Loz said,

    February 17, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    And welcome to you to Hapi

  5. skipper said,

    February 17, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    OK, you need to try the real housewives of Orange County. I am three separate search engines for them now – and the traffic isn’t letting up. What a joke…

  6. Loz said,

    February 18, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Skipper – What did you write about them?

  7. skipper said,

    February 18, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Loz;That I accidently watched that show and got bored – and that I am the really real housewife of orange county…


Leave a Reply

