Christmas Day

I’m actually writing this one on Tuesday but I’m setting it to post on Christmas Day.  May I wish everyone of my diminishing band of readers all the best for the season and hope that your wishes come true.   Provided of course they aren’t meant to harm anyone.

This year marks another change in what Christmas has been and if I look back over the past 4 I can see each one was very different.   2005 was the last of my old family Christmases.  2006 was marked by me spending Christmas lunch alone.  Last year was the first with my new partner and the last time I will go to the home of my old family for Christmas mornings.  It was also marked by my treatment as a ghost by a number of people who didn’t acknowledge my presence on that day.  That experience continued during the year with old friends deciding to terminate contact with me for reasons they know but I fail to understand.

This year, probably by the time anyone actually reads this post, my kids are coming to my place for breakfast.  My new partners family is arriving for a mid morning breakfast, after which we will eat alone again.  Last year we actually took the dog for a walk on Christmas Day, this year with an extra dog we may do the same.   And later in the afternoon my family will arrive for dinner, for the first time in my new home.

So new traditions begin and the old can go their own ways.  Maybe paths will cross again some day.  Maybe not.  But if I’ve learnt anything over the past few years it is not to take things personally and not to make assumptions.  To do either simply leads to that old familiar bitter and twisted sort of feeling and life is way to short to dwell on the past.

Merry Christmas everyone from this person who was once a ghost and who is now prepared to live again.

42 Comments

  1. Peter (Worldman): said,

    December 24, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Simply a very Merry Christmas to you too.

  2. Peter (Worldman): said,

    December 24, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Simply a very Merry Christmas to you too.

  3. Peter (Worldman): said,

    December 24, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Simply a very Merry Christmas to you too.

  4. skipper said,

    December 24, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Merry Christmas Loz! The more things change the more they stay the same. New traditions will give away to the old., and time does heal most wounds.(lot of cliches in there)

    Take care and I hope 2009 is all you ever wanted!

  5. skipper said,

    December 24, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Merry Christmas Loz! The more things change the more they stay the same. New traditions will give away to the old., and time does heal most wounds.(lot of cliches in there)

    Take care and I hope 2009 is all you ever wanted!

  6. skipper said,

    December 24, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Merry Christmas Loz! The more things change the more they stay the same. New traditions will give away to the old., and time does heal most wounds.(lot of cliches in there)

    Take care and I hope 2009 is all you ever wanted!

  7. Finn said,

    December 24, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and yours. I’m sorry you’ve had a rough time the past few years, but it seems that things are looking up.

    I hope you’re having a wonderful, peaceful day. xo

  8. Finn said,

    December 24, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and yours. I’m sorry you’ve had a rough time the past few years, but it seems that things are looking up.

    I hope you’re having a wonderful, peaceful day. xo

  9. Finn said,

    December 24, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and yours. I’m sorry you’ve had a rough time the past few years, but it seems that things are looking up.

    I hope you’re having a wonderful, peaceful day. xo

  10. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Peter – and a wonderful Christmas to you too my friend.

  11. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Dear Skipper – Another of an old friend. Thank you so much for your visit and may your dreams come true too.

  12. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Peter – and a wonderful Christmas to you too my friend.

  13. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Dear Skipper – Another of an old friend. Thank you so much for your visit and may your dreams come true too.

  14. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Peter – and a wonderful Christmas to you too my friend.

  15. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Dear Skipper – Another of an old friend. Thank you so much for your visit and may your dreams come true too.

  16. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Dear Finn – I am between breakfasts. Thank you too for your friendship over the past couple of years.

  17. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Dear Finn – I am between breakfasts. Thank you too for your friendship over the past couple of years.

  18. Loz said,

    December 24, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Dear Finn – I am between breakfasts. Thank you too for your friendship over the past couple of years.

  19. terri said,

    December 25, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Merry Christmas Loz! I love your sense of optimism and the fact that you’re ready to adapt to the changes life has forced you to face. Hope your holidays are peaceful and happy.

  20. terri said,

    December 25, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Merry Christmas Loz! I love your sense of optimism and the fact that you’re ready to adapt to the changes life has forced you to face. Hope your holidays are peaceful and happy.

  21. terri said,

    December 25, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Merry Christmas Loz! I love your sense of optimism and the fact that you’re ready to adapt to the changes life has forced you to face. Hope your holidays are peaceful and happy.

  22. Loz said,

    December 25, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Hi Terri – and thanks too for being a regular here and not forgetting me despite the infrequent posts. May your Christmas also be a happy one for you and your family.

  23. Loz said,

    December 25, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Hi Terri – and thanks too for being a regular here and not forgetting me despite the infrequent posts. May your Christmas also be a happy one for you and your family.

  24. Loz said,

    December 25, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Hi Terri – and thanks too for being a regular here and not forgetting me despite the infrequent posts. May your Christmas also be a happy one for you and your family.

  25. Dan Leone said,

    December 25, 2008 at 3:38 am

    : I have turned to you more times than you know, Loz. Your optimism, your ability to reflect, your skill at communicating your thoughts to your readers and your willingness to adapt, have been a constant guiding light for me.

    May your today be as beautiful and special as your tomorrow.

    Thank you for being you, Lozter.

    Dan Leone
    Cafe Leone

  26. Dan Leone said,

    December 25, 2008 at 3:38 am

    : I have turned to you more times than you know, Loz. Your optimism, your ability to reflect, your skill at communicating your thoughts to your readers and your willingness to adapt, have been a constant guiding light for me.

    May your today be as beautiful and special as your tomorrow.

    Thank you for being you, Lozter.

    Dan Leone
    Cafe Leone

  27. Dan Leone said,

    December 25, 2008 at 3:38 am

    : I have turned to you more times than you know, Loz. Your optimism, your ability to reflect, your skill at communicating your thoughts to your readers and your willingness to adapt, have been a constant guiding light for me.

    May your today be as beautiful and special as your tomorrow.

    Thank you for being you, Lozter.

    Dan Leone
    Cafe Leone

  28. Loz said,

    December 25, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Dan – you’ve made my day my friend. My your Christmas also be a great one.

  29. Loz said,

    December 25, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Dan – you’ve made my day my friend. My your Christmas also be a great one.

  30. Loz said,

    December 25, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Dan – you’ve made my day my friend. My your Christmas also be a great one.

  31. meleah rebeccah said,

    December 25, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and “All That Jazz” to you and your family!

  32. meleah rebeccah said,

    December 25, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and “All That Jazz” to you and your family!

  33. meleah rebeccah said,

    December 25, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and “All That Jazz” to you and your family!

  34. Hope said,

    December 26, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Hi Loz,
    I like the sound of hope in your words. It’s courageous and I’m proud of you.

    Hope

  35. Hope said,

    December 26, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Hi Loz,
    I like the sound of hope in your words. It’s courageous and I’m proud of you.

    Hope

  36. Hope said,

    December 26, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Hi Loz,
    I like the sound of hope in your words. It’s courageous and I’m proud of you.

    Hope

  37. Romany Angel said,

    December 26, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    You certainly have had more than your fair share of changes Loz but it seems like your life may be getting back on track. For those who treated you like a ghost, well you don’t need people in your life like that.

    I hope 2009 will see more changes for you but this time ones of your own making that will ensure your life is the experience you want it to be. Love to both you and R and best wishes for good times ahead.

  38. Romany Angel said,

    December 26, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    You certainly have had more than your fair share of changes Loz but it seems like your life may be getting back on track. For those who treated you like a ghost, well you don’t need people in your life like that.

    I hope 2009 will see more changes for you but this time ones of your own making that will ensure your life is the experience you want it to be. Love to both you and R and best wishes for good times ahead.

  39. Romany Angel said,

    December 26, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    You certainly have had more than your fair share of changes Loz but it seems like your life may be getting back on track. For those who treated you like a ghost, well you don’t need people in your life like that.

    I hope 2009 will see more changes for you but this time ones of your own making that will ensure your life is the experience you want it to be. Love to both you and R and best wishes for good times ahead.

  40. Blur Ting said,

    December 29, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Time will heal everything and things are looking up!

  41. Blur Ting said,

    December 29, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Time will heal everything and things are looking up!

  42. Blur Ting said,

    December 29, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Time will heal everything and things are looking up!


Leave a Reply

