14th August

This blog has been hidden for some months. Months when I have not found a lot of time to write and that has made me poorer because I’ve lost contact with my blog friends. My former real life friends have all abandoned me anyway and I hid the blog because of criticisms and sensitivities associated with what I’ve written and the way I wrote it. Since I’ve lost them anyway I’m going to reveal this blog again.

14th August passed without me knowing for the first time in 4 years. In 2004 on that Saturday my Dad died and that served as a catalyst for a great deal of change for me – my marriage ended, I commenced a new relationship, bought a new house, got sacked from my job and started a new career.

I did not remember the date my Dad died this year for the first time since it happened. That seems weird to me, maybe it’s a sign that I am moving on, that this midlife adventure is slowing down. That I can now start to get back into the stream and slowly paddle forward again.

There is barely a day goes by when I don’t think of Dad but I am making my peace with what went before. Yesterday I was watching a Garth Brooks special on CMC and “The Dance” was played. There are some songs that make me emotional every time I hear them and that is one. So for Dad and for what has happened in the past four years please have a listen.

2 Comments

  1. territerri said,

    August 31, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Loz, I’m so glad to see you back. You were missed! It’s good to see that you are experiencing signs of moving on and feeling a sense of normalcy again.

  2. skipper said,

    August 31, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Loz;Welcome back. I too, find myself forgetting dates that I thought I never would. I almost feel like the real “charge” has left certain dates and activities, and I am left with the lessons that came from them. You were one of my first real friends in the blogosphere and I want you to know that I have missed you…


Leave a Reply

