Me Mum Too

Thanks to everyone who sent their best wishes. Mum’s artery in her left leg is totally blocked from her groin to above her knee and again from below her knee to her foot. The doctor’s will insert a plastic artery from her right leg to bypass the other blockage and hopefully return some blood circulation to her left foot. She is booked to go into hospital on Monday and is to be operated on on Wednesday next week.

Of course there are a lot of risks involved with a 77 year old undergoing a general anesthetic as well as risks of post operative infections but the risk of not having the procedure done is that gangrene may set in and ultimately that would lead to amputation. She is still in denial about the cause of the blockages. In her mind it is due to her back pain despite the doctor telling her it was caused by her smoking. I’ve just hung up the phone from her and I could tell she was smoking while she was talking to me. What’s that about old dogs?

17 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    February 28, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Please don’t make her give the ciggies up. I have seen too many times where it has been worse than the disease for older people to give up smoking.

    But a decent reduction in quantity is good and she won’t panic if she just reduces.

  2. Andrew said,

    February 28, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Please don’t make her give the ciggies up. I have seen too many times where it has been worse than the disease for older people to give up smoking.But a decent reduction in quantity is good and she won’t panic if she just reduces.

  3. Gypsy said,

    February 28, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I’m actually surprised they will operate on your mum while she is still smoking especially considering her age. I’m not surprised however that she is still smoking. When people get to a certain age they become stubborn about things like that and its never easy to give up….believe me.

    I hope her op goes well and that they manage to save her leg. It would be so unfair to lose it.

  4. Gypsy said,

    February 28, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I’m actually surprised they will operate on your mum while she is still smoking especially considering her age. I’m not surprised however that she is still smoking. When people get to a certain age they become stubborn about things like that and its never easy to give up….believe me.I hope her op goes well and that they manage to save her leg. It would be so unfair to lose it.

  5. Finn said,

    February 28, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Somehow I think she’ll be just fine. At some point stubborn becomes a good thing.

  6. Finn said,

    February 28, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Somehow I think she’ll be just fine. At some point stubborn becomes a good thing.

  7. Anonymous said,

    February 28, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Often a major health scare gives those suffering instant incentive to stop smoking. Did for my parents anyway. Guess having to have half your lung cut away will do that. Well I’m glad it did. Want my dad around for a lot longer yet!
    But gee I remember growing up and living with parents who smoked. Turned me off completely and I have never even tried smoking. Yet my sister smokes – go figure.
    I wish your mum the very best for the operation next week Laurie. I hope it is a total success.
    I know what Finn means about stubborn. My grandmother virtually smoked all her life. Lived until her nineties.
    Jen

  8. Anonymous said,

    February 28, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Often a major health scare gives those suffering instant incentive to stop smoking. Did for my parents anyway. Guess having to have half your lung cut away will do that. Well I’m glad it did. Want my dad around for a lot longer yet!But gee I remember growing up and living with parents who smoked. Turned me off completely and I have never even tried smoking. Yet my sister smokes – go figure.I wish your mum the very best for the operation next week Laurie. I hope it is a total success. I know what Finn means about stubborn. My grandmother virtually smoked all her life. Lived until her nineties.Jen

  9. Blur Ting said,

    February 29, 2008 at 2:07 am

    It seems like a the best solution for now. It’s becoming a rather common procedure now, even in Singapore. She’ll be fine. And let the old lady smoke…as long as she’s happy.

  10. Blur Ting said,

    February 29, 2008 at 2:07 am

    It seems like a the best solution for now. It’s becoming a rather common procedure now, even in Singapore. She’ll be fine. And let the old lady smoke…as long as she’s happy.

  11. . . . Dallas Meow . . . . >^^< . . . said,

    February 29, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I wish her well.

  12. . . . Dallas Meow . . . . &gt;^^&lt; . . . said,

    February 29, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I wish her well.

  13. February 29, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I wish her well.

  14. Dorothy said,

    March 2, 2008 at 12:00 am

    My prayers for you and your mum..your right it’s very scary to have any kind of surgery especially with her age. My thoughts and prayers for next week.

    Dorothy from grammology
    remember to call gram
    http://www.grammology.com

  15. Dorothy said,

    March 2, 2008 at 12:00 am

    My prayers for you and your mum..your right it’s very scary to have any kind of surgery especially with her age. My thoughts and prayers for next week.Dorothy from grammologyremember to call gramwww.grammology.com

  16. Josie Two Shoes said,

    March 2, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I’ll be praying for your Mom and you. Yes, surgery at that age is a worrisome proposition, but in this case essential. Don’t bet on your mom giving up the smoking. I know several oldsters who use oxygen regularly to breathe, and yet take it off to smoke! Maybe we will be equally that unbending at that age. My theory is that longevity isn’t everything, and I will do what makes me most happy.

  17. March 2, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I’ll be praying for your Mom and you. Yes, surgery at that age is a worrisome proposition, but in this case essential. Don’t bet on your mom giving up the smoking. I know several oldsters who use oxygen regularly to breathe, and yet take it off to smoke! Maybe we will be equally that unbending at that age. My theory is that longevity isn’t everything, and I will do what makes me most happy.


Leave a Reply

