There is a beach


In my dreams is a beach. It is both familiar and totally unseen before. But it keeps recurring. I have arrived there on a bicycle along a path on the top of sand dunes. I have driven there down a long hill past buildings covered with scaffold. I have swum to it, from it and around it. It has a narrow spit of land that leads to an island in some dreams and a causeway that gets covered in water as the tide rises.

There has never been anyone in my dreams who I know, until last night. Last night my youngest daughter was with me. She is 14 but in this dream she was driving a van and I was in the back in the furthestmost seat from her. She drive down a hill and was excited looking at the water and somehow she and I both knew it was higher than it should have been. Still we went straight across a bridge covered by the high tide and then I woke up.

8 Comments

  1. Gypsy said,

    January 12, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    What a strange dream. I wonder what it means?

  2. Finn said,

    January 12, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    From Dreammoods.com:BeachTo see the beach in your dream, symbolizes the meeting between your two states of mind. The sand is symbolic of the rational and mental processes while the water signifies the irrational, unsteady, and emotional aspects of yourself. It is a place of transition between the physical/material and the spiritual.To dream that you are on the beach and looking out toward the ocean, indicates unknown and major changes that are occurring in your life. Consider the state of the ocean, whether it is calm, pleasant, forbidding, etc.To dream that you are looking toward the beach, suggests that you are returning to what is familiar to you. Alternatively, you may be adapting or accepting to the changes and circumstances in your life.To dream that you are relaxing on a beach, signifies that the coming weeks will be calm and tranquil for you. Your stress will be alleviated and you will find peace of mind.To dream that you are working on the beach, signifies a business project that will consume most of your time.That help any?

  3. Vanessa said,

    January 12, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    What is your daughter so caught up in that it is sweeping (washing) her away? School? Books? New boyfriend?

  4. HollyGL said,

    January 12, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Well, I remember someone telling me once that a dream where I am a passenger in a car means I am not in control of some aspect of my life. The driver is (are any of us ever in control of anything outside of ourselves?). I think you are just deferring to your daughter right now on many levels, which is absolutely okay. Perhaps you are both on your way to a familiar, grounded and safe place where the rising water cannot affect you.

  5. Blur Ting said,

    January 14, 2008 at 11:46 am

    After looking at Finn and Holly’s comments, I tend to think that it’s because you have been undergoing some major changes in your life and you have always been disturbed about your kids distancing themselves from you.

  6. Dorothy said,

    January 15, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Loz, I love the explanation from Beach. It made me want to learn more about dreams.I hope you are able to figure this out. Thanks for giving me this to add to my list of thoughts. I need some thoughts to consider as I head toward S Day on Friday. My best,remember to call gramhttp://grammology.com

  7. Jeff said,

    January 15, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I don’t pretend to be much of an interpreter of dreams, but I am glad that in your dream, you finally shared something of you that you, alone, could experience with your daughter. What’s more, I am glad that SHE was the one driving – means she wanted to go.

  8. January 16, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Hi Loz! Long time no see! I have no idea what your dream means…sorry!…but I have a fun meme on my blog you might enjoy doing! It’s FUN & EASY!~Olga


Leave a Reply

