A Compass for Holidays

It is 18 years since I spent either Boxing Day or the day after at home. In all that time I have been traveling to a holiday destination with my family. Even last year, I spent the first week away with my daughters before doing a tag team with their mother. So as with Christmas, there is a great sense of change lingering upon me. That comes with a touch of trepidation and one can only hope some day that this holiday will once more become one of anticipation for me. Daughter number two and her mother are heading off tomorrow, once more to Narooma, where the summers are great. So I am glad that they are continuing this tradition even though I know I won’t ever be part of it again.

Today I took daughter number two shopping for a birthday present for her Mum, because that will occur when they are away, and we decided also to go and see the movie “The Golden Compass” which only opened here yesterday. I have read with interest the pannings it has gotten from critics and noted also that it has been considered a box office failure in the States. There has been some talk about it being anti-religion but to be honest, who cares, in my opinion it’s a good story well told, and we both enjoyed it. So don’t be put off by what other people are saying, it’s a book written as a child’s fantasy, no Lord of the Rings, but stunning visually and as good as The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe.

15 Comments

  1. Gypsy said,

    December 27, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Dear Loz, I’m so glad you got to spend some time with your daughter before she went away. Nothing will ever be the same again but being different doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s a bad thing. You just all have to pick your way through the minefield of uncertainty at the moment until you get safely to the other side.

    No doubt I will be dragged along to that movie before the school hols are over so glad it was worth seeing. I haven’t heard a good thing about it either but I never take any notice of the critics.

  2. Finn said,

    December 27, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Glad you had time with your daughter.

    The best thing to always remember is that nothing is as constant as change!

    I’m glad you liked the movie; that anti-religious stuff makes me roll my eyes. The adults may notice it, but the kids won’t!

  3. HollyGL said,

    December 28, 2007 at 12:17 am

    I’m so happy you were able to spend some quality time with your daughter, Loz. I know there is a pang over what once was tradition, but over time you’ll create new traditions.

    “Anti-religion”, huh..? Give me a break! Sheesh! I’m glad you guys enjoyed the movie.

  4. JaniceNW said,

    December 29, 2007 at 6:06 am

    Thanks for being one of my readers for the past 6 months! I rarely go to movies but Juno has gotten uniformly excellent reviews.

    Nice time for you and the girls. I’m Christian and don’t see what all the brouhaha is about. Kids know difference between fantasy and fact.

  5. kim@laketrees said,

    December 29, 2007 at 9:52 am

    I’m planning to go and see the movie New Years Day with my daughter and my Mum…so that’s good to hear Loz
    we have seen the shorts…so we are looking forward to it ..
    wishing you every happiness for the New Year 🙂

  6. Dorothy said,

    December 30, 2007 at 2:17 am

    I’ve received all kinds of emails telling me they tried to kill God. I’m not sure if thats true was it?

    I hope your New Years Eve goes well. Change is always hard, hope you’ll be alright…glad you had time with your daughter as well..

    Dorothy from grammology
    remember to call gram
    http://grammology.com

  7. Ingrid said,

    December 30, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Maybe I will check out the movie. I saw that it did not get that many good reviews. I also know there was a backlash in the US because of the so-called anti-religious element (which is honestly what intrigued me about it in the first place).

    I am glad you spent time with your daughter. I hope you have a great end of the year. What are your plans?

  8. baby~amore' said,

    December 30, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Loz,you are very thoughtful to take your daughter shopping and spend time with her.
    The movie is okay but what I read it is the actual book they will push from the movie that is ‘evil’. The author is allegedly anti God and hates the CS Lewis Narnia series and anything Christian.
    I still want to see the movie.Belated Merry Christmas to you and the happiest of New years In 2008.

  9. baby~amore' said,

    December 30, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Loz,you are very thoughtful to take your daughter shopping and spend time with her.
    The movie is okay but what I read it is the actual book they will push from the movie that is ‘evil’. The author is allegedly anti God and hates the CS Lewis Narnia series and anything Christian.
    I still want to see the movie.Belated Merry Christmas to you and the happiest of New years In 2008.

  10. baby~amore' said,

    December 30, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Loz,you are very thoughtful to take your daughter shopping and spend time with her.
    The movie is okay but what I read it is the actual book they will push from the movie that is ‘evil’. The author is allegedly anti God and hates the CS Lewis Narnia series and anything Christian.
    I still want to see the movie.Belated Merry Christmas to you and the happiest of New years In 2008.

  11. baby~amore' said,

    December 30, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Loz,you are very thoughtful to take your daughter shopping and spend time with her.
    The movie is okay but what I read it is the actual book they will push from the movie that is ‘evil’. The author is allegedly anti God and hates the CS Lewis Narnia series and anything Christian.
    I still want to see the movie.Belated Merry Christmas to you and the happiest of New years In 2008.

  12. Worldman said,

    December 31, 2007 at 4:10 am

    Loz, it was a great pleasure to read you during the year. Also, many thanks for following me and commenting on my stories.

    A HAPPY NEW YEAR for you and the ones you care about.

    Peter

  13. Olga, the Traveling Bra said,

    December 31, 2007 at 6:01 am

    My 13 yr old son loved the movie!

    I hope your New Year is filled with great beginnings and happy endings, Loz! Cheers!
    🙂

  14. meleah rebeccah said,

    December 31, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    OFF TOPIC:

    Happy New Years Eve!! xxoo 🙂

  15. DrowseyMonkey said,

    January 1, 2008 at 4:12 am

    glad you were able to spend time with your kids. I’ve heard only good things about the movie…from people who’ve seen it.


Leave a Reply

