The Ghosts of Soldiers Past


I have been absent again for a few days this week only this time in Canberra where son number 1 graduated as an officer in the Australian Army from the Royal Military College, Duntroon.

I am one very proud father again at the moment but also a little fearful of what the future holds. Having said that I know that he is absolutely committed to this career as were the other 140 young men and women who graduated with him as the Class of 2007.

I was also very grateful for the five mates of his that took time off work to attend the graduation ceremony.

My son follows in the footsteps of one great-Grandfather who was a Rat of Tobruk, another who was at Gallipoli and yet another who fought for three years on the Western Front in World War 1. He has great-great-uncles who were in the Pacific and Malaya in World War 2, who fought with both the American and Australian armies in Papua New Guinea. The uncle after whom I was named was killed by the Japanese on the first day of the invasion of Rabaul and others were prisoners at Changi and on the Burma Railway. So there is a long and proud military history in my family and i am sure those ghosts of soldiers past were standing there proudly watching another of our number join their ranks.

So forgive my absence in particular from your blogs, I will get back to commenting on them over the next few days I hope.

10 Comments

  1. FindingHeart said,

    December 13, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Congrats! What a wonderful ancestral history you have!

    I guess I would be proud of my Mancub, should he choose to go into the military. I just have so little faith in how our military is used that I just don’t think I could encourage that. Scares me as a father.

  2. Gypsy said,

    December 13, 2007 at 8:10 am

    Its good to see you back Loz, I was starting to wonder about your absence but I’m glad to hear all is well.

    Congrats must go to your son on his graduation and I can understand as a parent the underlying fear of where his career may take him.

    No wonder you are proud Loz. He looks like a fine young man with a very noble career ahead of him. It takes a special person to become part of the armed forces these days especially with the current state the world is in. I hope he will always stay safe right here in Australia.

  3. Loz said,

    December 13, 2007 at 8:13 am

    It does worry my Findingheart but I actually do have a great deal of confidence in the training our soldiers get. I really believe it is second to none.

  4. Loz said,

    December 13, 2007 at 8:16 am

    Gypsy these young men and women truly are the cream of the crop [if I may say so without being biased]. Every one of them has joined knowing that we are at war and knowing also that they will likely be deployed overseas in the not too distant future. That goes with the territory and I will give whatever support I can to them whenever I can. I just hope that when they do go that they are allowed to do the job expected of them without having one hand tied behind their backs.

  5. Terri said,

    December 13, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Congratulations to your son. You have every right to be proud!

  6. Anonymous said,

    December 13, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    My congratulations to your son also. I know that our Military college do only accept the best, so he definately must be an exceptional young man.
    How proud you and the family must be.
    I so understand your fears – what parent would not hold some fear about their child entering a career in the forces.
    May he always be safe and protected.

    Jen

  7. Chuck said,

    December 14, 2007 at 2:32 am

    Congratulations to your son on his graduation and to you for the hand you have had in getting him there.

    My oldest is 17 this year and has talked of going into the military after high school. I have mixed feelings but will ultimately support whatever he decides.

    All the best.

    Chuck @ D is for Dad

  8. Dorothy said,

    December 15, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Loz, you sound so wonderfully proud, as you should. It is wonderful to hear about our young generation willing to defend their country.

    My best,

    Dorothy from grammology
    call your gram
    http://grammology.com

  9. M said,

    December 16, 2007 at 5:06 am

    Awwww… congrats. I’ve been absent as well, but for no good reason. I’m glad to see you back.

    I know you are proud of your son and send my most sincere wishes to you and your family this holiday season.

  10. Hope said,

    December 18, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    Oh do tell him congratulation for me. How wonderful!


Leave a Reply

