I don’t get…breast feeding 7 year olds


A new report has said that Australian mothers are breast feeding their children up to the age of 7 years old. It stated that some of the 107 women who took part in the study are feeding up to a dozen times a day and one of them was feeding three children at once. Now I think the latter meant that in any one day three of her kids were feeding rather than she had three tits. But you know what, I don’t get it!

****************************************
Image from Cartoonstock.com

5 Comments

  1. Gypsy said,

    November 17, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    Funnily enough I was going to post about this very thing a couple of days ago. Our local radio station had people call in to give their opinions about this and most people seemed to think it was quite odd to be breast feeding a grown child.

    Let me say first of all I think it’s fantastic if a mother is able to breast feed her child and its the most natural thing in the world. BUT….I have to wonder for who’s benefit it is when a mother is still breast feeding a toddler over the age of 2. On this radio program a woman rang in to say she was still breast feeding her son at 9. That is just wrong on so many levels in my humble opinion.

  2. Loz said,

    November 18, 2007 at 8:52 am

    I agree Gypsy. Just seems a little weird to me.

  3. LORD MANILA STONE said,

    November 20, 2007 at 5:05 am

    i remember my mom would stop her breastfeeding agony when my younger brothers and sister reached the age of 2, she’d dab some chilli on her tits just to scare my siblings, (LOL) I can’t imagine seeing a mom with three tits, hehehe, btw loz thanks for the visit and linking my blog here, i just have you in my blogroll, i should have done it earlier…

  4. Vanessa said,

    January 11, 2008 at 8:09 am

    That’s more than a little wierd! EWWWW!

  5. Snooty said,

    March 14, 2008 at 9:40 am

    The age of natural human weaning (in the absence of cultural pressures) is estimated to be somewhere between 4 and 7 years of age. Of course, as with most human development, there is wide variation in what is normal for each individual child, however, most children will not voluntarily wean before the age of 2 and a half. It is also not possible for a child to breastfeed past the age that their body physiologically matures out of breastfeeding, because this involves a change in jaw shape (which prevents the appropriate suckling action) and the loss of a key enzyme in the stomach which helps digest breastmilk. This rarely occurs later than 7 years, but there are extremes in everything and it does not surprise me that some children mature a couple of years slower.

    Just to shed some light and perhaps educate a little.


Leave a Reply

