I don’t get…

A Canberra school, Stromlo High School, has supposedly allowed a 16 year old girl, Tara Lewis, to have cigarette breaks because her doctor says she is addicted to nicotine. Given it is illegal to supply cigarettes to children under the age of 18 I can only say WTF are they thinking? I don’t get that the school allows it, I don’t get that the mother allows it and presumably encourages it. And I don’t get how is the school going to explain this one in Health Education classes?

12 Comments

  1. Gypsy said,

    November 8, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Truly bizarre. Back in my school days that would have scored you a few days suspension and for a second offence, consider yourself expelled.

  2. Gypsy said,

    November 8, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    Truly bizarre. Back in my school days that would have scored you a few days suspension and for a second offence, consider yourself expelled.

  3. Finn said,

    November 8, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    How does a 15-year-old get to be nicotine addicted? How the hell long has she been smoking? Slap a patch on her arm and tell her to get over it.

    When I was in high school, we actually had a smoking area – a back area of a parking lot marked with a yellow line. One side, smoke away, the other, not. Weird, I know, but it only existed for a couple of years — a holdover from the 70s.

  4. Finn said,

    November 8, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    How does a 15-year-old get to be nicotine addicted? How the hell long has she been smoking? Slap a patch on her arm and tell her to get over it.When I was in high school, we actually had a smoking area – a back area of a parking lot marked with a yellow line. One side, smoke away, the other, not. Weird, I know, but it only existed for a couple of years — a holdover from the 70s.

  5. LORD MANILA STONE said,

    November 9, 2007 at 4:28 am

    i think there must be other alternatives to deal with the young girl’s addiction^^

  6. November 9, 2007 at 4:28 am

    i think there must be other alternatives to deal with the young girl’s addiction^^

  7. Nick Phillips said,

    November 10, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    I seriously couldn’t believe my eyes when I read that post, Loz! Just what where they thinking when they came up with this highly ‘intelligent’ idea?

  8. November 10, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    I seriously couldn’t believe my eyes when I read that post, Loz! Just what where they thinking when they came up with this highly ‘intelligent’ idea?

  9. Lee said,

    November 11, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Someone has ingested an incredible amount of BS and swallowed the whole load. I agree with Finn, she’s too young to be that addicted. If nothing else, this is the perfect time in her life to deal with any addiction. If nothing else, the community should enforce the law and hold the school personnel responsible.

  10. Lee said,

    November 11, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Someone has ingested an incredible amount of BS and swallowed the whole load. I agree with Finn, she’s too young to be that addicted. If nothing else, this is the perfect time in her life to deal with any addiction. If nothing else, the community should enforce the law and hold the school personnel responsible.

  11. Loz said,

    November 12, 2007 at 5:09 am

    I would have thought there would be plenty of alternatives as well.

  12. Loz said,

    November 12, 2007 at 5:09 am

    I would have thought there would be plenty of alternatives as well.


Leave a Reply

