Fickleness

The fickleness of the women I love is only equalled by the infernal constancy of the women who love me.
George Bernard Shaw


Those who have been reading here for a while will know that I try and spend one night a week with my daughters. Generally, we’ll go out and have a feed together, maybe go to a movie. Sometimes we’ll touch on the deep and meaningful and not being someone who finds it easy to talk about feelings that has been a steep learning curve for me. I have tried to answer their questions openly and honestly and reiterated many times that all they need to do is ask me rather than dwell on things.

This week I had a meeting on Thursday night so we had arranged to go out on Wednesday. That morning I got a message from daughter number 2 asking what time I was picking them up but by the time I got there that night I was in the bad books and she wouldn’t speak to me. So something had happened during the day to make her cranky and I still have absolutely no idea what that was.

Daughter number 1 and I ended up going to the movies and saw The Kingdom which we both enjoyed.

So I’m not sure when I’ll see the other one. I will call her this weekend and ask if she wants a chat. Apparently she thinks I don’t listen to her, but that’s pretty hard when she won’t talk to me. I’m guessing this is a bit of the fickleness of a 14 year old female and that maybe next week when it comes time to go out again, that she’ll be OK again.

So my darling daughters – if you read this, this song is for you.

Leave a Reply

