I don’t get…

I’ve spend a lot of time pondering things and often not finding answers, or least not finding answers that are palatable. So I thought that I would start a series of posts on what I don’t get… Here is the first.

Five years ago today terrorists set off multiple bombs in cafes in Bali, Indonesia, killing 202 people including 88 Australians. The bombers, members of the terrorist group Jemaah Islamiya targetted foreigners in general and Australians in particular just over a year from 911.

Fortunately they were caught and several have received the death penalty. I have to say that there are certain cases where I believe the death penalty is justified and those who commit mass murder and cloak it in the guise of religion or some other cause are one situation where I think it is appropriate.

I do however recognise that Indonesia is a society unlike our own and there are many things I do not understand about it which brings me back to the title of this entry.

I don’t get how the Bali bombers can be let out of jail to visit the home of a top Indonesian policeman for a barbecue.

Brigadier-General Dharma is reported in The Age as stating that “the gathering was part of a strategy to win over terrorists.”

“We approach the terrorists with a pure heart,” he said. “We are all Muslims. We make them our brothers, not our enemy.”

They appear to me to be my enemies. They appear to me to be people who are absolutely hell bent on destroying my way of life. They appear to have no regrets for taking the lives of so many innocents and they have shown no contrition nor offered apologies to the families of those killed. Perhaps Islam, like Christianity does tell people to forgive their enemies, I am no expert on either religion. But I am sure that neither religion sanctions the murder of innocents. I am equally sure that in my country, no chief of police, would throw a barbecue for mass murderers.

I simply don’t get it.

16 Comments

  1. Josie Two Shoes said,

    October 12, 2007 at 3:29 am

    I don’t get it either, Loz. I think that using religion as a cover for something very unsavory going on here is disgusting and insulting. This little barbeque had nothing to do with Islam. The whole idea sickens me. I’ve got an idea for a barbeque… let’s show terrorists the same compasion they show their innocent victims. Seems like the perfect justice to me.

  2. October 12, 2007 at 3:29 am

    I don’t get it either, Loz. I think that using religion as a cover for something very unsavory going on here is disgusting and insulting. This little barbeque had nothing to do with Islam. The whole idea sickens me. I’ve got an idea for a barbeque… let’s show terrorists the same compasion they show their innocent victims. Seems like the perfect justice to me.

  3. angus said,

    October 12, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Im fairly certain forgiving enemies is part of many beliefs, however rewarding them? I don’t think so…

  4. angus said,

    October 12, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Im fairly certain forgiving enemies is part of many beliefs, however rewarding them? I don’t think so…

  5. Finn said,

    October 12, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    I don’t get it either. And I hope I n ever will…

  6. Finn said,

    October 12, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    I don’t get it either. And I hope I n ever will…

  7. Pen and the Sword said,

    October 12, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    I don’t get it, either, Loz. WTF. It just goes to show what a sick, sad, crazy world we live in.

  8. October 12, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    I don’t get it, either, Loz. WTF. It just goes to show what a sick, sad, crazy world we live in.

  9. Gypsy said,

    October 13, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Don’t even get me started on this subject…. I could rant and rave all over your blog about how screwed up the Indonesian justice system is. Don’t they realise how much that terrible tragedy effected the lives of their own people as well as the countless casualties and deaths to people from all over the world?

    Mass murderers seem to get a slap on the wrist when you weigh up the crime versus the punishment yet drug smugglers are treated like they committed the most heinous sin of all. Don’t misunderstand, I don’t condone drug trafficking in any way but by no stretch of the imagination is it in the same league as mass murder.

    Letting that scum out for a bbq while loved ones around the world are remembering the terrible crime they committed on this 5th Anniversary almost makes me ill with disgust.

  10. Gypsy said,

    October 13, 2007 at 9:18 am

    Don’t even get me started on this subject…. I could rant and rave all over your blog about how screwed up the Indonesian justice system is. Don’t they realise how much that terrible tragedy effected the lives of their own people as well as the countless casualties and deaths to people from all over the world?Mass murderers seem to get a slap on the wrist when you weigh up the crime versus the punishment yet drug smugglers are treated like they committed the most heinous sin of all. Don’t misunderstand, I don’t condone drug trafficking in any way but by no stretch of the imagination is it in the same league as mass murder.Letting that scum out for a bbq while loved ones around the world are remembering the terrible crime they committed on this 5th Anniversary almost makes me ill with disgust.

  11. HollyGL said,

    October 13, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I have absolutely no idea how to respond to that… Unbelievable.

  12. HollyGL said,

    October 13, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I have absolutely no idea how to respond to that… Unbelievable.

  13. Dorothy said,

    October 14, 2007 at 2:04 am

    Loz, There is no sense to the actions taken by the governments which are suppose to support and protect us..I have a hard time making myself keep up with current events. It’s all disapponting and appears to have very little resemblance to justice..
    Anyone participating in crimes like this should be isolated and killed. And it shouldn’t take years it should be just and swift… I doubt we’ll ever see this, as most of the political systems are self serving…

    Regards, Dorothy from grammology
    call your grandma
    http://grammology.com

  14. Dorothy said,

    October 14, 2007 at 2:04 am

    Loz, There is no sense to the actions taken by the governments which are suppose to support and protect us..I have a hard time making myself keep up with current events. It’s all disapponting and appears to have very little resemblance to justice..Anyone participating in crimes like this should be isolated and killed. And it shouldn’t take years it should be just and swift… I doubt we’ll ever see this, as most of the political systems are self serving…Regards, Dorothy from grammologycall your grandma http://grammology.com

  15. Loz said,

    October 14, 2007 at 7:23 am

    I’m glad to see that it’s not just me who finds the whole thing abhorrent

  16. Loz said,

    October 14, 2007 at 7:23 am

    I’m glad to see that it’s not just me who finds the whole thing abhorrent


Leave a Reply

