A Day for Whingeing

Not sure the people I’m referring to would see it that way but it certainly looks like it to me. Firstly I have a group of women complaining about the amount of money they have to pay to play, never mind the fact that the Association has been subsidsing them to the tune of several thousand dollars a year for the past four years. Pity, that this is a public blog and I can’t really spell out what’s happening, but if somehow any of you ladies stumble on this entry let me say that as pissed as you are, I am more pissed at what appears to be your attitude.

Secondly another Association has been making allegations of poaching players against us. We are not interested in poaching, we have not approached any other players and why would we want to displace our own kids to let outsiders in anyway? This is from a club that has itself pulled in plenty of kids from elsewhere for years including several who began their playing career with us. And one of ours who actually trained with them without our permission in the past few weeks. What a joke! As someone wrote on one forum “That’s the pot calling the kettle black!”

Still, sorting out some of these issues is why they pay me the big money 🙂

In September 2001 I was the Executive Officer of the Victorian Basketball League and we were about to enter a weekend of National Finals in the regional Victorian town of Bendigo. It was the same week that the airline Ansett went into receivership and basically shut down overnight with the teams who were booked to fly in now unable to get there. As a result the finals that year had to be canceled and there was an outcry about how bad that situation was.

It was also the very same week that the Twin Towers fell in New York and the world changed forever. I wrote an article at the time reminding the whingers who were complaining about the cancellation of a basketball competition that there were mothers and fathers who would never again return home that week, that there were others who would never see their children again, that friends, siblings, family members all over the world were grieving, and these winers were complaining about a basketball competition ffs.

I guess the point is it’s all about context. There are days when I cope well with whingeing and others, like today, when I feel like telling people to grow up and put things into context, that there are far more important things going on in the world.

And of course I have this blog where I can have a bit of a whinge myself whenever I feel like it. So there [poking my tongue out and stamping my foot]. Now I feel much better. How’s your day been?

Leave a Reply

