Aching Tonight

I have spent the weekend shifting the last of my property from the family home – books, comics and fish tank. I had hoped to finish this weekend but there were a few unexpected holdups like a run to the tip to empty a trailer full of rubbish and the lack of electricity at the house which meant I couldn’t keep going last night because it was getting hard to see.

L has rented the house to a work colleague of hers and there were things I wanted to keep so had to move them. I have found out how unfit I am sitting here now, muscles aching, on a weekend when I wasn’t supposed to lift anything because of the stitches in my shoulder [for that story see here] .

I still have a few more boxes of books to collect plus my record collection which will all have to be done next weekend now. I also have a shed full of stuff I haven’t touched for years so I’ll have to do that in the next few weeks too.

I don’t think the fish have been looked after much in the last few months – there were only 11 left alive and the tank water was very cold because the electricity had been cut off a day or so earlier. Three more fish died in the move and I expect that some more may yet succumb to the shock of the move, although they’re all looking reasonably happy at the moment, that is if a fish can look happy. That’s not a criticism of anyone because I know they all would have been stressing about the move. It’s not every day that kids move out of the only home they’ve ever known so I understand why fish weren’t a priority.

Incidentally I did notice the budgies the girls gave me for my birthday last year were gone. I had dropped them at the house over Christmas and left them there primarily because L had told Erin that she’d get an aviary built for them. Once the move was organised that wasn’t practical of course so they were given to L’s niece. Not really sure why I wasn’t given the option of taking them back. Maybe I got asked, but I don’t remember it happening.

Erin did ask me in to see her new room yesterday morning after I dropped her off. I hope they settle in quickly to the new arrangement. I have offered for them to stay in my spare bedroom any time they wish to but that’s not likely to happen.

Leave a Reply

