Red Letter Day


Here in Oz it is Fathers Day. I spend every Thursday night with my daughters and they asked me what I wanted to do today and to be honest I didn’t really care what we did as long as I got to hang out with them for a while. This is the second fathers day since the split so things are different to before but I guess the trauma is easing a little.

Anyway Daughter 1 said she would call me this morning and she did and she and Daughter 2 came around about 12:30 this afternoon. Now for reasons I won’t state here that is the absolute best Fathers Day present I could have hoped for. It was an extrememly difficult thing for them to do and I will be forever grateful that they came and I hope that it will be easier from now on.

We went from here to the nearest shopping Mall where we had lunch and then they bought me a few books for presents. Just for the record and so you may get an inkling of what I like to read they were – Ink by Hal Duncan, The Hard Way by Lee Child, The Collectors by David Baldacci and Seven Ancient Wonders by Matthew Reilly.

We were supposed to meet son number 2 there but he rang and said that he had to take a mate home and that he would drop around here later on. Well it’s 8:30pm and I don’t think that’ll happen now, so we’re still in a bit of a cats in the cradle moment there.

Son number 1 is off in the bush somewhere in Queensland and I think won’t have phone access until next Friday whereupon I know he will call me.

So my darling daughters as I said to you both today. I know how hard it was for you both to come around here today and I truly appreciate it and love you very much. Thank you both!

18 Comments

  1. Dorothy said,

    September 2, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    What a beautiful family. I suspect your patience and not judging your children until they adjusted is what has helped them with the journey..

    Happy fathers day, sounds like your values are in the right place.

    Regards, Dorothy from grammology
    http://grammology.com

  2. Gypsy said,

    September 2, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    Well a very Happy Father’s Day Loz. I am so glad your daughters were able to do something that made you so happy. That is a lovely family photo btw.

  3. Cynthia said,

    September 2, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    I’m so glad you got to spend the day with your daughters. This is such a touching entry.

  4. Beth said,

    September 2, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    Happy Fathers Day Loz!

  5. Finn said,

    September 2, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Happy Father’s Day. What a lovely present you got. Time truly does heal.

    Beautiful family.

  6. Josie Two Shoes said,

    September 2, 2007 at 5:01 pm

    What an awesome gift from your daughters, Loz! Spending time with our kids is what we all want most! I knew it was Father’s Day there, and I thought of you and was so hoping it would turn out to be a good one. Obviously it has. It sounds like much healing has began to take place in all your lives, and it will continue. You have such beautiful children – I love this photo of all of you. You have good reason to proud, and so do they!

  7. WalksFarWoman said,

    September 2, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    Happy Father’s Day Loz.
    Nice that you spent it the way you were meant to. Little steps make the fastest progress, it’ll all fall into place in it’s own time. x

  8. Ingrid said,

    September 2, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    Great picture. Everybody looks so happy. I hope it’s been a great Father’s Day for you.

  9. People in the Sun said,

    September 2, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Happy father’s day. Hope you enjoy the books (sorry, I didn’t recognize anything. It’s not you, it’s me).

  10. HollyGL said,

    September 2, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    Happy Father’s Day, Loz. I’m so happy your girls were able to spend time with you. I’m sure they realize that – circumstances aside – they are fortunate to have a dad who loves them so much.

  11. Anonymous said,

    September 3, 2007 at 12:41 am

    I’m so happy you got to spend time with your kids Laurie. Healing is taking place. What you put out does reflect back to you. Is only a matter of time.

    And that is such a beautiful shot to have of you all.

    Jen

  12. Pen and the Sword said,

    September 3, 2007 at 1:59 am

    You have very beautiful childen, Loz. Glad you got to hear from your kids on Father’s Day :o)

    Off topic, I have had to change my URL. If you go to my profile through comments, you will be able to get to the new URL. Just wanted to let you know. :o)

  13. Loz said,

    September 3, 2007 at 2:55 am

    Thank you everyone – it was a special day for me

  14. Random Magus said,

    September 4, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    Happy Father’s Day – you guys look so lovely together. I am glad for both you and your daughters, because it’s probably more important for them to know that they have a father who loves them and is there for them – this is coming from my perspective as a daughter

  15. M said,

    September 6, 2007 at 4:09 am

    Happy belated Father’s Day.

    Thank you for the recent posts about your children. It reminds me just how much I loved my father. I miss him.

    I know that I didn’t spend as much time with him as I should have. Even thought it’s been 12 years since he passed, I gain comfort from the love we had for each other, and even more, from his love for me.

    Know that your daughters will feel your love for all time.

  16. Loz said,

    September 6, 2007 at 4:26 am

    M – sometimes we don’t know how much we do miss them until they’ve gone. i do hope you are right about my daughters. I will be seeing them tonight.

    So far Son number 2 has still not spoken to me.

  17. Loz said,

    September 7, 2007 at 2:52 am

    Son number 2 did come out for dinner with the girls and me last night and gave me a box of chocolates for fathers day 🙂

  18. Blur Ting said,

    September 11, 2007 at 2:12 am

    That’s so very nice.


Leave a Reply

