Of Dirty Chooks


From an old Journal – 12 November 1989
It’s funny how things don’t really change. The other day I was out in the car with Luke and Glen when Luke said, “There’s a horse!”

Both Glen and I looked and Luke started giggling “Made you look you dirty chook”, he said.

I remember the same phrase from my days at school and it’s probably been around for much longer than that. All these things that Luke is learning have obviously been passed on from schoolyard generation to generation and will no doubt continue to be. It’s something I hadn’t thought about for years and it surprised and delighted me to hear it again.

Glen tried to mimic Luke. “There’s a horse you chook,” he said. And Luke as so often does sighed and patronisingly told his little brother the correct phrase.

Glen tried again. “Look a dirty chook,” he yelled with conviction.

All three of us laughed with Luke shaking his head wisely “Glen always gets it wrong doesn’t he Dad.”
The photo is of my boys today, a far cry from the 4 and 5 year olds of that post above. And you know what they still get on well most of the time, but love nothing better than taking the piss out of each other when they can.

23 Comments

  1. Shinade said,

    July 25, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    I could have sworn that your header is a picture of a harbor you would find anywhere along the coast line of Maine. I love the ocean and here I am in the middle of the country almost…odd how life takes in ways we never imagined..huh? I love the photos and your blog…quite handsome young men. I am also tagging you as one of my favorites…this is a lovely family blog.~Jackie

  2. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 25, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    so sweet! what a nice story! (and great kids!)

  3. paisley said,

    July 26, 2007 at 1:34 am

    what a lovely post and picture!!! how nice to see the three of you together…

  4. Loz said,

    July 26, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Thankyou Jackie – the photo is of Boatsheds on Wagonga Inlet, at Narooma on the South Coast of New South Wales.

    Mel – it’s hard to believe they’ve grown up so quickly

  5. Blur Ting said,

    July 26, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    Nice little story!

  6. Rhea said,

    July 26, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    I don’t know what a chook is but I like seeing the Before and After photos of your offspring!

  7. Loz said,

    July 26, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Thankyou Blur

    Sorry Rhea – I sometimes forget to explain when I use the vernacular – A chook is a chicken

  8. OneFullHouse said,

    July 29, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    That is a great picture to recap the story.

    Thanks for sharing.

  9. Suzie Grogan said,

    December 8, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Great photo! Have a couple of similar ones on mine as my two are in their teens now. I came over from blog gems and via your comment on my blog. Thanks!

  10. Loz said,

    December 8, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Hi Suzie – thanks for returning the favour πŸ™‚

  11. Happy13 said,

    December 8, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I had not heard the term "chook" before. You learn something new everyday. Visiting from the blog gems.

  12. Lynn said,

    December 8, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    If there was award for going furthest back into your archives, you'd win hands down! A post from 2007 with a journal entry from 1989…great story and wonderful pics!Thanks for hopping over and commenting on my gem!

  13. Kelly said,

    December 8, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    I'm expecting my second baby and I really look forward to seeing what having two children is like, and seeing their relationship change as they grow older. What a lovely story.

  14. Loz said,

    December 8, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Hi Happy – perhaps I should explain then – a chook is a chicken πŸ™‚

  15. Loz said,

    December 8, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    And then you for returning the favour Lynn

  16. Loz said,

    December 8, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Hi Kelly – one thing is certain, each child changes the family dynamics, but whilst there are moments at times, they will always share a special relationship as siblings.

  17. geekymummy said,

    December 9, 2010 at 5:50 am

    How cool that you kept a diary from back in the pre blogging days! Cute story, and lovely boys!

  18. jfb57 said,

    December 9, 2010 at 6:50 am

    It is those silly moments that stay with families!

  19. Loz said,

    December 9, 2010 at 10:07 am

    See Geekymummy – at the time I didn't even know I was a geekydaddy πŸ™‚

  20. Loz said,

    December 9, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Hi jfb57 they do stay for me but only coz I wrote them down at the time. That's why blogging is so good because we not only record things but we can share them too

  21. KWombles said,

    December 9, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    πŸ™‚ Visiting back from Countering. The blog gems idea is wonderful. I enjoyed reading yours!

  22. kathleen said,

    December 10, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Hi-visiting from my blog and blog gems..:) That is a lovely post-and a great memory. Funny isn't it how things change and yet still stay the same..I hope that one day, I will say the same thing about my little herd..I hope they remain close..I know they will ALWAYS goad each other πŸ™‚

  23. December 11, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    hehehe, we used to say 'made you look' but never with the dirty chook bit on the end of it. Your sons have grown into very handsome young men:) Thanks for joining in blog gems. Jen


Leave a Reply

