We Don’t Use Paper

Meleah over at Momma Mia Mea Culpa posted an email from her mother recently about the Death of Common Sense and it got me thinking about political correctness and some of the absolute extremist dogma that I’ve seen over the years.

The original author of that post is Lori Borgman and it can be found here.

More than a decade ago now, when I was still in the police force, I was sent down to East Gippsland to monitor some anti-logging protests that were underway in some of our State Forests. During this particular protest there were a number of arrests and we were back at Orbost Police Station. There were the usual pot smoking, drum banging, caftan wearing, dreadlocked panoply of protesters I’d seen in the streets in any one of dozens of causes over the years.

One of the girls demanded to be allowed to go to the toilet and on exiting the door was waving her wet hands in the air, shaking the drops of water off.

One of the coppers saw that and asked “Are we out of paper towel in there?”

“No”, she said, “we don’t use paper!”

“What did you wipe your bum with then?” he asked.

23 Comments

  1. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 9, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    I didn’t write that. It was an email from my mother.

  2. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 9, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    I didn’t write that. It was an email from my mother.

  3. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 9, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    I didn’t write that. It was an email from my mother.

  4. Loz said,

    July 9, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    My most humble apologies Meleah – I have corrected it 🙂

  5. Loz said,

    July 9, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    My most humble apologies Meleah – I have corrected it 🙂

  6. Loz said,

    July 9, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    My most humble apologies Meleah – I have corrected it 🙂

  7. paisley said,

    July 10, 2007 at 1:20 am

    welcome to my world loz… all those pot smoking caftan wearing politically and environmentally correct non carbon producing people live right here in west marin… with me of all people!!!!!!

  8. paisley said,

    July 10, 2007 at 1:20 am

    welcome to my world loz… all those pot smoking caftan wearing politically and environmentally correct non carbon producing people live right here in west marin… with me of all people!!!!!!

  9. paisley said,

    July 10, 2007 at 1:41 am

    welcome to my world loz… all those pot smoking caftan wearing politically and environmentally correct non carbon producing people live right here in west marin… with me of all people!!!!!!

  10. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 10, 2007 at 3:27 am

    Thank you LOZ! I found the rightful owner! I’m just glad it got you thinking! It sure had me spinning in my own head!

  11. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 10, 2007 at 3:27 am

    Thank you LOZ! I found the rightful owner! I’m just glad it got you thinking! It sure had me spinning in my own head!

  12. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 10, 2007 at 3:46 am

    Thank you LOZ! I found the rightful owner! I’m just glad it got you thinking! It sure had me spinning in my own head!

  13. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 11, 2007 at 3:56 am

    Oh! look at you! Thanks for linking the rightful owner too!

    🙂

  14. meleah rebeccah said,

    July 11, 2007 at 3:56 am

    Oh! look at you! Thanks for linking the rightful owner too!

    🙂

  15. Bobby Revell said,

    July 11, 2007 at 9:42 am

    I don’t get it. Why would she need a paper towel? Are you smoking pot in here Paisley?

  16. Bobby said,

    July 11, 2007 at 9:42 am

    I don’t get it. Why would she need a paper towel? Are you smoking pot in here Paisley?

  17. Bobby said,

    July 11, 2007 at 9:42 am

    I don’t get it. Why would she need a paper towel? Are you smoking pot in here Paisley?

  18. Loz said,

    July 11, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Paisley – if you look at me during my unicersity years I looked much the same as them, the years however, have given me a cloak of conservatism.

    Meleah – You’re welcome

    Bobby – You mean you don’t use paper in the States?

  19. Loz said,

    July 11, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Paisley – if you look at me during my unicersity years I looked much the same as them, the years however, have given me a cloak of conservatism.

    Meleah – You’re welcome

    Bobby – You mean you don’t use paper in the States?

  20. Jeff said,

    July 11, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Maybe if you eat the right things, you don’t need paper. Or you itch quite a bit, I don’t know.

  21. Jeff said,

    July 11, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Maybe if you eat the right things, you don’t need paper. Or you itch quite a bit, I don’t know.

  22. Loz said,

    July 11, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    It’s gotta be the mung beans Jeff

  23. Loz said,

    July 11, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    It’s gotta be the mung beans Jeff


Leave a Reply

