My first kiss

I have kissed six women in my lifetime and I suppose for someone who is near fifty that is a very small number. And I can remember clearly each of those girls and the circumstances where the first kiss occurred with each of them.

My very first was in Form 1 at school and it was at a party. In fact it was the first party I had gone to that also had girls present. Someone decided that it would be a good idea to play “Spin the Bottle” and I was absolutely terrified. What if the girl who spun it and had to kiss me laughed, or worse refused to, or decided to be sick and through up over me, or any one of many other thoughts of disaster, kept running through my head.

So I feigned not feeling well myself and went out onto the front patio to hide. I was followed out by a girl called Gill who asked me if I would like to kiss her and as scared as I was I said yes. It was a wonderful experience and I will always be grateful to her for giving that 12 year old nerd a chance to feel OK about himself.

Oh and by the way, that was the only time I kissed her and the next kiss with a different girl didn’t happen till three years later.

Leave a Reply

